Incognito mode not quite incognito with chrome?

incognito mode


Google has received a claim of about $5 billion in the US for tracking users surfing in so-called incognito mode. Google has violated the privacy of potentially millions of users by continuing to monitor internet usage while we set browsers to private mode. These are users who have surfed the Internet since 1 June 2016 in “private” mode.

The lawsuit targets at least $5 billion, accusing Alphabet Inc of secretly collecting information about what people are viewing online and where they are browsing, despite using Google’s incognito mode.

Incognito mode or “private browsing”

Google itself writes about incognito mode: If you don’t want Google Chrome to remember your activity, you can browse the internet privately in Incognito mode. This mode runs in a different window than your normal Chrome windows.

If you browse privately, other people using the device will not see your history. Chrome does not save your browsing history or the information you enter in forms. Cookies and site data are remembered as you browse, but are deleted when you exit incognito mode.

Data via Google Analytics, Google Ad Manager

Google tracked users of the incognito mode through data collected via Google Analytics, Google Ad Manager and other (smartphone) applications or website plug-ins.

This ensures that Google learns per user about friends, hobbies, favorite foods, buying behavior, as well as the most “intimate and potentially embarrassing things,” they search for online.

Google can not continue with the unauthorized collection of data from almost every American with a computer or telephone, according to the complaint.

Google on the defensive

Jose Castaneda, a spokesman for Google, says the Mountain View, California, company will stand up against these claims. 

“As we clearly state each time you open a new incognito tab, websites might be able to collect information about your browsing activity.”

A potentially justified comment, Google states that when you are browsing in incognito mode, your activity, such as your location, may still be visible to:

Websites you visit, including the advertisements and resources used on these sites

Websites where you log in

Your employer, school, or the person who manages the network you use

Your internet service provider

Search engines. (Search engines can display search suggestions based on your location or activity in your current incognito session.)

Do you ever use the incognito mode?

Although that will not be known too many. 

To go “incognito” press Ctrl+ Shift + N to bring up a new tab in incognito mode without entering the Chrome settings menu.

Do you ever use your browser’s incognito mode?

All the best,

Luc

If you find this article informative, share it with your friends or/and leave a comment below.

Add a Comment

You have to agree to the comment policy.